Via Rorate Caeli, a list of the Bishops who were invited and present for the historic gathering Wednesday and received the contents of the upcoming Motu Proprio concerning the traditional Mass:

Roman Curia:

1. Cardinal Bertone, Secretary of State
2. Cardinal Arinze, Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
3. Cardinal Castrillón Hoyos, President of the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei



4. Cardinal Ruini, Cardinal Vicar of Rome
5. Angelo Bagnasco, Archbishop of Genoa, President of the Italian Episcopal Conference


6. Cardinal Ricard, Archbishop of Bordeaux, President of the French Episcopal Conference
7. Cardinal Barbarin, Archbishop of Lyon


8. Cardinal Lehmann, Bishop of Mainz, President of the German Episcopal Conference

England and Wales

9. Cardinal Murphy O’Connor, Archbishop of Westminster, President of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales


10. Kurt Koch, Bishop of Basel, President of the Swiss Episcopal Conference


United States

11. Cardinal O’Malley, Archbishop of Boston
12. Raymond Burke, Archbishop of Saint Louis



13. Basile Mvé Engone, Archbishop of Libreville, President of the Episcopal Conference of Gabon



14. Cardinal Toppo, Archbishop of Ranchi, President of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India


15. Cardinal Pell, Archbishop of Sydney

In addition to Archbishop Burke, Archbishop Engone of Libreville, Gabon, was present. The ICRSP has a strong missionary presence there and I believe was first incardinated (someone who knows, tell me if this is the right term) there.

Is it too much to hope that our beloved Archbishop might be made a Cardinal without being moved in order to bring this about? Not that he wouldn’t look good (eventually) in white…